Mudcats Take Gold At 2009 TORHS Nationals

Written by Roller Player. Posted in TORHS

Tagged: , ,

Brett Legget Holding The 2009 TORHS Pro Trophy

Published on July 03, 2009 with No Comments

This year at the 2009 TORHS nationals in Palm Beach Florida the pro division once again proved full of talent. With three teams in Pro Tier one the Tour Mudcats, Savage Wolfs, and Pama Cyclones they all played round robin games against Pro Tier 2 teams then branched off into there own playoff bracket. The Mudcats did not loose a game in round robin.

Another big thing for the Mudcats at this tournament was the unavailing of their new jerseys. There roster also changed and grew featuring some of the best talent in the game. The Mudcats roster TORHS Tour Mudcats Pama Cyclones CJ Yoder Jami Yoder Brian Yingling Breincluded Jason Allen, Jp Beilsten, Tommy Bruce, Ken Daleo, Johnny Mcguines, Pete Messina, Chris Peterson, Chad Seibel, Sean Sullivan, Pj Tallo, Brian Yingling, Cj Yoder, and Jami Yoder with Joe Colmo Brett Legget, and Brett Legget in net.

In the championship game the Mudcats faced off against their long time rival the Pama Cyclones. The first goal of the game was scored by the Mudcats by Chris Peterson from Pj Tallo three minutes and nine seconds into the game. The Mudcats would strike again in the first period this time Johnny Mcguines scored with the assist going to Jp Beilsten. However, the Pama Cyclones would finally come back with an answer scoring with just 20 seconds to go in the first period while on the power play. The goal came from Zack Walthers with the assist by Juaquin Chavira. With the second period under way the Mudcats moved quickly to silence and momentum the Cylcones had with a goal from Tommy Bruce just 45 seconds into the period with the assist going to Sean Sullivan. The Cylcones would fight back however, scoring just one minute and eight later. This time the goal came from Nathan Sigmund and being assisted by Dan Comrie. Down by one and with the goalie pulled, with 14 seconds left in the game Dan Comrie shot from the point with confusion infront of the net the puck slid past legget forcing the game into over time. However, the OT and the thought of a Cyclones come back was short lived when Johnny Mcguines scored just seconds into the OT on a pass from Brian Yingling, making the Mudcats the TORHS 2009 Pro Champions.

In the Pro Division Johnny Mcguines took home the Most Valuable player and high scorer award while Brett Legget took home the most valuable goalie award.

Share this Article

About Roller Player

Roller Player was founded in 2009 with the goal to grow the sport via a media outlet.

Browse Archived Articles by

Facebook comments:

No Comments

There are currently no comments on Mudcats Take Gold At 2009 TORHS Nationals. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment